The Little Things

Posted: June 29, 2016 in Thoughts on art ministry and life
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

littlethings
It’s a little thing. Most of the time you don’t think about it. Then you don’t have it and you realize how important it really is. In my case it was my computer power cord. I work on a MacBook Pro most of the time and I took it with me to my church to get a lot of work done. Problem was, I left my cord sitting on the floor by my favorite work space at home. Now this was not a major tragedy, I have a desk top at my office, so I still got things done, but all my design software is on the MacBook. Of course the MacBook also was not fully charged so some of the things I wanted to get done did not get done and I ended up outlining my sermon with a pen and paper.

Yes, I know, “Oh the horror.” Some of my less techno-savvy friends would want to give me a Gibbs slap (watch NCIS if you’re not familiar with that term). Yes I am fully aware that we survived as a species for millennia without MacBook Pros but that’s not where I am going with this. A power cord seems like a little thing until you don’t have it, at which point, it becomes a monumental inconvenience.

This is where I’m going—the importance of the little things—the things you don’t miss until you don’t have them. Sometimes in our world of big picture focus, we need to take the time and refocus. Some people say the devil is in the details and a forgotten cord would certainly feel like it’s devilishly inconvenient, but I think sometimes God is in the details, not in the hurricane, not in the earthquake, but in the still small voice, a whisper. Romans 1:20 talks about the evidence of God being seen in what he created and when we look at those intricacies, we see the level of precision he put into everything he made.

So in your pursuit of big stuff, don’t forget the seemingly little things (this is especially important when it comes to our relationships), the important moments, the simple things, your health, the things you push to the sides to get “important” stuff done, the little things that will one day reveal themselves as having been huge. There will always be work to be done. Believe me there is never shortage of things to fill our days, but those little things can really matter.

Don’t miss them.
canbehuge

Leave a Reply

