Trying Something New

Posted: June 1, 2016 in Speaking ministry
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

It seems like a lifetime ago but it was actually just this past year, but I was scrambling, looking for income sources to cover for my lost job. One of the things I did was interview to be one of those guys who leads painting parties. It went well, but the company had not yet expanded into my area and the logistics looked increasingly improbable and of course the Lord had a pastorate and other speaking opportunities for me so it fell by the wayside. That was until I got a contact to do a Sr. Adult retreat at a camp. They were looking for me to do some teaching but they were also looking for a few entertainment ideas for the folks. I thought, “What about a paint party?” The organizers loved the idea and I am looking forward to seeing how it all works out.

I’m thinking about adding this as an add on service for all my speaking engagements, but first we have to see how this one works out. We’ll be doing a simple sunset painting and it should be a lot of fun.

What do you think of this idea as an add on to my ministry? By the way, over the course of the next few weeks I’m going to tell you about a ministry that uses this same concept to help raise money for persecuted Christians half way around the world. I love it when creativity and ministry collide.

How do they collide in your life?

Leave a Reply

