Well today was a long day, but a good one. I left my house at just after 7:00 a.m. and didn’t arrive at my destination until 4:30 p.m. Over 9 hours in a van by myself. That’s a long time to think. I went over my new presentation about a zillion times, spent some time prayer, listened to a little music, but mostly I just gave myself some time to think. I was thinking about church, my family, how I would present what I’m presenting this week, and lots of other stuff and spent more than a little time wondering what the other drivers were doing. All in all though it was a good trip.

One thought I often have is before long I will be making this trip in the other direction. Why do we do that? We have such a hard time staying in the moment that we anticipate the ride home before we even experience what we came for. (Or maybe I’m the only one.) This week I am determined to do something different. I am determined to get everything out of this trip that I can. I am determined to give as much of myself as I can to every activity, especially the ones for which I am offering leadership. I owe that to all the other people who have come this far, at least in part, to hear what I have to offer, or better yet what God has given me to share.

I think we owe it to ourselves to live in the moment, and make the most of every opportunity. I know we owe it to others. Give your best and be faithful in every situation.

Here’s looking toward a great road trip.

Comments
  1. Johnpaul says:

    The trip was long enough to start talking to yourrself.
    On the way back you can answer yourself.
    By the time you get home you will have a complete conversation with yourself.

Leave a Reply

