oidodoiSomething new happened on March 17. I’ve awakened with things to create before. They usually end up being some of my best work. I’m guessing that’s because they’ve been laid on my heart by God, or at least that’s how I feel. To my recollection, it’s never been a book idea before now, and if there was one before it was never this clear. I had to get up at once and start writing.

The clarity was amazing. I saw the cover, not just a faint image, but the exact technique I would use to create it, even the font. I tend to make my covers a lot more involved, but for some reason this very understated cover resonates with me. I was even reading it in my dream. It’s also a genre, I’d never really imagined myself doing before, a straight up devotional. I awoke with a pretty well formed plan and a lot of clarity, not to mention 35 ideas for individual topics and I’m more than a little excited to see where it goes.

It’s called O, I Do, Do I? 100 Things God Says About You.

Now here’s the thing. I may have dreamed it, but there is a lot of work to be done between here and the book’s completion. To dream it is not enough. If this book is ever to be more than a cover illustration, I have to do the work. Your dreams can be reality too (at least some of them. I have some weird ones too.) but to get them from dream to reality, there is no substitute for doing the work.

My goal is to finish this book in 100 days or less. This is not an iron clad deadline, but it gives me something to shoot for. This implies that I will write a page a day until the book is complete. That should be realistic expectation given the rest of my schedule. This is also an important part of bringing your dreams to reality, setting deadlines and manageable goals and then doing what it takes to reach them. Many people dream of being their own boss, but the thing about being your own boss is you have to actually be the boss and assign the work that needs to be done.

I used to say “A dream is but reality waiting for its time.” That’s still as true as it has ever been, and sometimes the distance between your dream and seeing it come true depends on a lot of factors, one of which is timing. There is another reality to consider. Most of the time the things your dream waits most for is you. You need to determine to do what it takes. Part of this is changing our perspective. It’s not so much about getting to the dream as it is about living the dream, doing the day by day steps to get you from here to there.

What step(s) can you make today to bring your dream to reality?

Leave a Reply

