Too Busy to Pray?

Posted: March 3, 2016 in Thoughts on art ministry and life
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

I can’t tell you how many times I have fallen into this trap. I have deadlines. Things that need to be done. Places I need to be. It’s easy to push prayer to the sidelines and push through. This is the height of foolishness. It’s as if to say, “I know all the power of the universe is available to me, but I’d rather just try to move this mountain of work in my own strength.” Don’t fall for it.

In my morning reading this morning I came upon a quote from Henri Nouwen in which he expounds on Mark 1:35. Here’s what he has to say:

“In the morning, long before dawn, he (Jesus) got up and left the house, and went off to a lonely place and prayed there.” In the middle of sentences loaded with action—healing suffering people, casting out devils, responding to impatient disciples, traveling from town to town and preaching from synagogue to synagogue we find these quiet words: ‘In the morning, long before dawn, he got up and left the house, and went off to a lonely place and prayed there.’ In the center of breathless activities we hear a restful breathing. Surrounded by hours of moving, we find a moment of quiet stillness. In the heart of much involvement there are quiet words of withdrawal. In the midst of action there is contemplation. And after much togetherness there is solitude. The more I read this nearly silent sentence locked in between the loud words of action, the more I have the sense that the secret of Jesus’ ministry is hidden in that lonely place where He went to pray, early in the morning, long before dawn.

In the lonely place, Jesus finds the courage to follow God’s will and not His own; to speak God’s words and not his own; to do God’s work and not his own. He reminds us constantly: ‘I can do nothing by myself… my aim is to do not my own will, but the will of Him who sent me.’ (John 5:30). And again, ‘The words I say to you I do not speak as from myself: It is the Father living in me who is doing this work’ (John 14:10). It is in the lonely place, where Jesus enters into intimacy with the Father,that His ministry is born.’

Busy creative, today is the day to make a decision. Will you plug into the source of your power or will you go it alone, working in your own power? I suggest that if you’re too busy to pray, you might just be way too busy. Only you can assess that for yourself, but this much I can say, connecting to the source of your power is the only way you will successfully power through that pile of work that lies before you. Connect withHim and let Him help you to do what must be done.

You’re not too busy to pray.

Leave a Reply

