This morning on my prayer walk I learned something from some very foolish deer. I was walking down the street when I saw two deer run into the road. One of the deer saw the car coming toward him and assumed the stereotypical deer in the headlights position. I clapped my hands to get him to move and he did. What I could not see though was two more deer were behind him and they jumped into the road as well. The car narrowly missed the last two deer. It could have been a fatal mistake and that’s when it hit me. That’s what fear does.

After this incident, I walked at least ten minutes before I saw another car. Had the deer waited, they would have had all the time in the world to cross the street, but they didn’t know that, they’re deer. Their fear of me, though I posed no threat, drove them into the path of very real danger. Fear can often cause us to make impulsive decisions rather than taking the time to think and then do something rational. Sometimes fear is valid. Most times fear is misused imagination.

The impact of fear on creatives is phenomenal. We do one bad piece of work (or maybe it’s a good piece but someone gives us an adverse reaction) and the next thing we know we condemn all of our work, decide we’re not good enough and give up. Maybe the reaction is not quite that severe, but how many pieces of work are in your workspace right now that will never see the light of day because you fear that it’s not good enough. Learn the lesson from the deer. The thing you fear is not the real threat. The real threat is jumping to the conclusion that you’re not good enough and never becoming all that you can be. Don’t jump to that conclusion. Look at your work and your choices, be rational and move when the time is right.

Don’t let fear wreck your life.

Leave a Reply

