springfieldToday is an important day for me. As many of you know, I was called in January as pastor of Springfield Church of the Brethren in Coopersburg, PA. When I first went there, my goal was pretty simple. I was asked to come in and help them out for a few months to prepare the way for their “permanent” pastor. I figured I would be leaving in April, so I set about the task of bridging the gap between their last pastor and the next one. I didn’t really allow myself to think the “permanent” pastor would be me, but a funny thing happened. I began to feel like part of the family. They welcomed and accepted me. They understood my call to creative ministry and decided to accommodate and get behind it. This is a great congregation and the adventure is just beginning. Today, in a special service, I will be installed as their “permanent” pastor, and I could not be more thrilled. (“Permanent” is in quotes, because “permanent” is in God’s hands. It’s kind of like when we say “Lord willing…”)

Ten months ago, I was recently unemployed and wondering how on earth I would make it. When my wife and I prayed, we would hear one word over and over, “TRUST.” God is always worthy of our trust and once again He proved it in my life. He opened door after door to lead to where I am now. God is good all the time.

I am so looking forward to this great adventure.

Comments
  1. Becky Burgos says:

    That is such good news. May God continue to bless you abundantly. We will miss seeing you at The Foundry.

Leave a Reply

