Great words on Scripture and Imagination From My Friend Jessie Nilo

Posted: February 12, 2016 in church art ministry resources, Thoughts on art ministry and life
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Jessie Nilo is the leader of VineArts, an amazing arts ministry in Boise, Idaho and Founder of ArtFruition.com, a great online art ministry school. I am currently taking her Art Ministry 101 class. On a recent handout, she shared these words that bear repeating on the subject of creating in the Kingdom of God. These should alleviate the pressures we all feel as we create.

“…Ask God for the gift of His presence and creativity in your encounter with Scripture, but remember: Your worth will never be affected one iota by ANYTHING you can possibly create or not create. Where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom.”

This is so key for all of us as Christian creatives. There is a very real temptation to get our self worth from our creations. I remember working a job where it never seemed to matter how good the work I did was. I was only ever as good as my last typo, my last mistake. It was devastating and heartbreaking. The most traumatic time of every year was when the piece I was working on would ship, because I was nearly traumatized by the fear that there would be a mistake. I felt worthless every single time it happened. My self worth was tied up in my own perfection and as soon as it was revealed, (surprise, surprise, surprise) that I wasn’t perfect, the feelings of worthlessness came to call.

My worth and yours are not found in the work that we do, they are found in the price paid for us by the One who matters most. You are valuable because you are a child of God and no one and nothing can take that away.

Do the best work you can do, but find your value in Christ. If you do, you will experience true freedom.

Leave a Reply

