Destroying Art

Posted: February 8, 2016 in Speaking ministry
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Earlier in last week, I shared the “idols” I made for the youth retreat I spoke at over the weekend. As far as I know, they are no more. I was unable to attend the final day of the retreat due to a prior commitment, but it is my understanding that they have been destroyed…

and I’m okay with that…

gollum_and_ring
It’s taken me a long time to get to this point. There was a time where my creations were a little too precious. Not just that I put my best into them… No, it was more like this and that is how our work can lapse into idolatry.

But things have changed. These pieces were created to be destroyed. I painted them in insulation styrofoam and while I put my best effort into them, the fact that they were not intended to survive the weekend was always at the back of my mind. They were meant to be destroyed as all idols are, or should be. My hope and prayer is that as the students were destroying them, they were also thinking about the idols in their own lives that need to be dismantled and destroyed.

If that happens, even for one student, all the work was worth it. After all, I make all this art to draw people closer to God and idols come from the destroyer. They will destroy us if we do not first destroy them.

Leave a Reply

