photo-19Does this guy look familiar? He should, it’s me… Well sort of. If you’ve been reading this blog for any length of time, you know I recommend having a hobby and/or side project going at all times for those times when you’re a little stuck creatively. It’s a kind of diversion that allows you to refocus and get unstuck. Mine is model building and I really love it. It’s artistic and yet it feels different enough from the work I do professionally. It’s (usually) relaxing and it’s a nice diversion.

I usually build cars, but I have a soft spot for the old cartoon kits from the 60’s. The combination of cars and cartoons is just fun. Way out of scale monstrous looking drivers grabbing for outrageously long shifters on cars with disproportionately large engines. They are so much fun to paint and build. Over the last few years, the Hawk Model Company re-released the Weird-Oh’s line of models and they made a B-line to my Christmas list. Well the other day I was at my local Ollie’s and I saw one of the kits missing from my collection. Wade-A-Minut, the official race starter.
lindberg-weirdohs-carickytures-wade-a-minut
I wanted this kit to put with two of my other kits in a sort of diorama. I got it home and started working on it. I began to notice some duplicate parts and at first thought nothing of it. Then I realized it wasn’t just a few extra parts, it was a whole second kit. That was kind of exciting, but what would I do with it? I began to notice that the hands positioned to hold a checkered flag and that it could also hold a paintbrush and I had my answer. I was going to make myself into a Weird-Oh. The above picture is the result. I’m pretty happy with it.

You might ask why I would make myself into a Weird-Oh. Well beyond the nostalgia and the fun, it will sit on my pastor’s office desk as a reminder. I’m supposed to be a Weird-Oh and so are you. Oh, not for the sake of being weird, but because scripture calls Christians peculiar. But ye are a chosen generation, a royal priesthood, an holy nation, a peculiar people; that ye should shew forth the praises of him who hath called. We’re supposed to be different, peculiar, even weird. In a world that is often going in the wrong direction, we have a call to be different, by being good. How odd are you? Do you stand out? You’re supposed to? You’re supposed to stand out. You’re supposed to be different. You’re supposed to shine so people see your good deeds and praise your Father in heaven. In a sense…

You were born to be weird.

Leave a Reply

