Creative Challenge 2016-Looking Back and Looking Forward

Posted: December 31, 2015 in creative challenge
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

So here we are, and tomorrow is the big day, the start of a new year. We’ve talked about goal setting and coming up with those incremental steps that will get you to your goal. It’s now time to put feet to your goals and get started. “But wait,” you might be thinking, “I haven’t set my goal yet.” Okay I will issue a challenge. It’s really simple, but if you will take it, it will launch you in a good direction, your work will improve and you will quite possibly reach your goals.

It’s really simple. Are you ready?

Create every day. At least six days a week (even God rested). It doesn’t have to be a completed piece everyday, that depends on your process, but create something every day. Work toward your goal or improving your skills every day. If you’re a writer, write, if you’re an artist, make art. Do something creative daily. You’ll be amazed what you accomplish.

What if you miss a day? Pick it up the next day and keep going. You can hit your goals.

I set a goal for 2015 to create 12 marketable products in the course of the year. I was able to generate 7 books. Two of those books were adult coloring books, one was a sketch devotional, one was a book adaptation of one of my speaking presentations, and two were creative challenge books. None of these hit the best sellers list or anything, but they do provide additional income at my speaking engagements. I also created at least seven new T-shirts through Zazzle.com. Again these were not huge sellers, but I get a notification about once a week saying someone bought one. I also created a new presentation called Close Encounters with Jesus, which I presented for the first time this year. I had a goal of speaking 50 times this year, I think I hit 48 or 49, which was great. I also had a goal to post every day to this blog and my final stat was 375 posts for the year. It was a really good and fulfilling year.

I don’t say these things to boast, finding myself out of work incentivized me to work pretty hard. I do say them to show reaching goals is possible. So is being prolific and the key to getting there is really simple. Go to work. Treat your work as if it were your job and work every day. If you’ve ever wanted to turn your creativity into your living, that is a huge key.

I think this year, I am going to try to post my daily creations on a special page on this blog or I may just make them posts on the blog itself. My goal for this year is 30 speaking engagements, daily blogging (and upgrading my blogs), and a new subscription based teaching tool for ministries that want to use art as a teaching tool. I am also planning several activity type books.

As I alluded to yesterday, this was a year where once again God showed Himself to be faithful. Were it not for him, I could not have done any of this and all glory goes to Him. He showed up and He provided. If He is Faithful, and He is, and He called you to what you’re doing, the fitting and proper response is faithfulness on your part.

Basically the challenge this year is simple. Do the work.

Leave a Reply

