I Need An Opinion on My New Book

Posted: December 3, 2015 in Uncategorized

I am working on creating an Adult Coloring Book. Yes I know I am jumping on a trend, but I have to admit this has been one of the most enjoyable creative pursuits I have done in a while, and I do a lot of creative pursuits. One of the things I am particularly enjoying are the Mandala patterns associated with this project. I know that Mandala’s can be associated with Eastern Religion, but that’s pretty clearly not where I am headed. I just enjoy the kaleidoscopic nature of the work. I create an eighth of an image and don’t get to see what it will look like until I assemble the image. It’s an exciting way to work.

Of course, someone took issue with it. I posted the how to article to a Christian Art page and someone struggled with the designs for a multitude of reasons. The person was very kind and gentle, but I have to admit the discussion troubled me a little bit. Am I going in the wrong direction? I don’t believe so, but could I be wrong? To be clear, I do not intend this project for the Christian market. This is more of a general market book, I am trying to do a book with a little bit more of a masculine feel. I am incorporating some of my creature cartoons, monsters, automotive stuff etc. It’s more like a jam session for me, I just get out my sketch book and let the art move me. Seeing the patterns and elements come together into intriguing designs is exciting. I am having fun, but hopefully by now you know me enough to know that whether or not a project is about faith, God, etc. I want to honor God with my life. So I am floating this out there. What do you think of these designs?
mandalaformat7
5
10
11
2

Comments
  1. Anonymous says:

    Hey Dave. The eyes creeped me out for a minute but they’re cool.
    Have you considered Christian based Adult Coloring books?
    don

  2. The first is a little freaky with the eyes and flames. After I read that you’re going for a more masculine theme and general market, I think it might work. The other one that bothers me a little is the one with the dragon faces. But you have to pray about them, as I know you do. Let God guide your thoughts and your hands. Again, I know you do.

    The rest of them are great.

    I’m not sure how many men have the patience to sit down and color, although it would be beneficial in stress relief if they did. I think coloring books geared more to men is worth pursuing.

    I just published an Advent Devotional with coloring pages, The Reason for the Season. And you’re right, the process of creating the coloring pages is enjoyable and relaxing.

    • amokarts says:

      Yes I have enjoyed it. The dragons are always iffy. I love to draw them because there is so much opportunity for creativity. You can do virtually anything you want.

  3. Wendi says:

    I like them. It’s a nice change from the floral or geometric designs. 👍

  4. Mark Bowyer says:

    Pretty cool overall, but I agree the eyes are a bit creepy. 🙂

  5. Celita says:

    I don’t like floating eyes, but the rest is fine for me. I think it is a neat idea. 🙂 I DO think there is a market for Christian Themedbadult coloring books, too.

  6. Anonymous says:

    Hi i would leave the eyes out but the rest is great

Leave a Reply

