Why Me? Seeing God’s Plan In Your Life

Posted: December 2, 2015 in Thoughts on art ministry and life
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

There are a lot of times in our lives when we ask “Why me?” Things don’t go our way. Things break down. We start to feel like the world, the universe and even God are working against us and it can be really painful.

Then there are those other times. Times when we feel blessed beyond measure. Times when we feel like we are on top of the world and sometimes in those moments, we feel unworthy, look to the heavens and say, “Why me? Out of all the people in the world, why did God choose to bless me?”

I think both of these things are the wrong question. The negative “why me?” shows that we feel we are above struggle, as if somehow God should spare us difficulty. I will confess, I sometimes go there way too quickly. The thing is, “Why me?” in this case is a worthless question. A better question is, “Did I do something to cause this problem?” or perhaps “Is there something I can do to solve this problem?” If you can find the source of your problem, you know what steps to take to alleviate the problem. If the situation is out of your control, it is far better to pray. Lift the problem to the Lord and ask for His help. Remember we serve a God for who all things are possible, who promised to work in all things for the good of those who love Him. One day this test will be your testimony, so look for the victory rather than wallowing in the struggle. (Now I just need to read this the next time I feel in over my head.)

But what about those other times, the times when you can’t believe God would bless you as He has. “Why me?” in that situation shows a fundamental flaw in your relationship with God. You might see it as humility and there may be some of that in there, but there is also an idea that the God of the Universe doesn’t love you enough to bless you as He blesses others. We need to scratch that thinking. You are a child of God and He is a good Dad who loves His children. His blessings are for you and He loves you. Instead of saying, “Why me?” how about saying “Why not me?” As in, “If God is going to bless someone, why not me?” This change in thinking could radically change your life.

Think about it, wouldn’t you be more bold to serve a God who you believe desires to bless you? Wouldn’t you be more apt to take risks in His name? God has a good plan and purpose for your life. He wants to bless you. The tough times strengthen us and show us we can depend on God. The good times remind us we can live in His favor and help us to remember we are loved.

Maybe it’s time we said “Why not me?” a little more often, praise God in all circumstances and live in the favor of children of the King.

Leave a Reply

