How to Art: Watermarks in Photoshop

Posted: November 22, 2015 in How to
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

A friend saw a photography project I did for a class assignment and asked me if I knew how to do watermarks on photos. Watermarks are not something I generally do, but I do know a simple way to make a watermark in Photoshop. I haven’t been able to afford to upgrade my photoshop in a while so I am using an older version, but most of these features have not changed too much as far as I know.

So let’s say I want to watermark this Creacher cartoon.
1. Open your photo.
WATERMARK1

2. Take your text tool and type your watermark over it.
WATERMARK2

3. You can use free transform under edit on your menu bar to rotate your watermark or expand it as necessary.
WATERMARK3

4. In the layers window, take the opacity on your watermark layer back to about 50-60% and you should have a suitable watermark.
watermark4

If you want to use a logo instead of type for your watermark:
1. Use a logo with a transparent background.
watermark5

2. In the layers window take the opacity back to about 50-60%.
watermark6

I am not sure if there is an easier way to do this or not. If there is, I would love to hear about it. This is just a way I found that works.

Leave a Reply

