promophotoI got a call recently from someone who wanted to bring me in to be “entertainment.” Some folks in ministry would really kick against that. I don’t. Here’s why:

  1. I don’t care what you call it as long as I get to bring the Gospel.
  2. If we think there is no entertainment in ministry, we’re mistaken. If we are trying to reach the world and meet people where they are, especially people from outside the church, we need to make it interesting. We don’t change the message of the Gospel, but we do need to think about how we deliver it.
  3. If we want people to remember the message, we may want to work on being memorable. I’m not talking about being irreverent or silly, but I believe there is room for being God honoring and interesting simultaneously.
  4. Bringing a different element to the worship service, such as the painting I do, has one purpose. It’s another entry point into the Gospel. It’s a tool used to “draw” people in. 1 Peter 4:10 says, “Each one should use whatever gifts he has received to serve others, faithfully administering God’s grace in it’s various forms.” Our gifts and talents are invested in us by a loving God whose desire is that people would come to Christ and receive salvation. When we put those gifts to work in service to the Kingdom we become instruments of God’s grace. What a great thing to be.

Sometimes I think we need to be less concerned with what people call what we do and more interested in doing the very best we can with what we have. I don’t see myself as an entertainer, but rather a minister of the Gospel, but if God chooses to open a door, I want to walk through it.

I want to know Him and make Him known.

Leave a Reply

