This week the class I am taking over at ArtFruition.com gave an assignment to brainstorm a collaborative project. It took me all of about 30 seconds to figure out what that project would be. It’s something I have dreamed of for a very long time.

For over a decade, I have been a writer for a youth ministry resource called Interlinc. We write Bible study lessons for youth groups based on Christian rock songs and music videos. I have long dreamed of creating a similar resource for youth ministries using art projects as lead in’s or responses to the Biblical text. I am passionate about this because I feel like one of the answers for really launching visual arts ministries (especially in many of the places I end up where they arts are still a “novelty”) is igniting a passion for using their gifts to serve the Lord in the next generation.

The only reason I have not already done this is because I have been hesitant, wondering if I would be able to come up with enough material to make a consistent resource. My idea is that this would be subscription based with new ideas arriving each month. I could see both people who consider themselves creatives and those who don’t using this, because youth leaders are always looking for new ideas to engage their students.

To really pull this off, I would need a tech guru to help me make a working delivery system, a marketing person to help me let the world know about it and a couple passionate writers to help create the content.

I dream of a ministry like Awana in the sense that ministries all over the world would be following this curriculum on a weekly basis. Little AMOK groups for youth popping up all over the place where young people can engage their creativity and learn how to put it to work for the Kingdom.

I am passionate about this, because I know for a fact if there has been a church in my community where I could have made art, the trajectory of my life would have been much better. While I ended up in a good place I spent most of my teen years distraught and depressed and many others do as well. My story could have ended very differently and if anything it’s getting worse for this generation. This is an idea whose time has come.

Anyone want to help bring this dream to reality? Contact me.

Comments
  1. That is awesome. I would love to see that dream become a reality. I’ll contact you

Leave a Reply

