Slide10Sunday Night as I was ministering, I felt led in my Spirit to share a childhood dream. When I was very young, as I’ve mentioned before I thought I would be some sort of entertainer. All I really wanted to do was make pictures and tell stories. I buried that dream for a very long time, mainly because I became the human target kid when I went to school and ceased to want to do anything that would make me stand out. Years later when I came to Christ, He gently prodded and moved me to what I am doing today, making art and sharing the Gospel. I related how one night after a great night of ministry as I drove home alone in my car, the Lord impressed on me that what He actually did was brought me full-circle and made my childhood dream a reality. I am quite clearly living my dream.

What hit me that night as I shared was how messed up we Christians often have it. It’s almost as if we think we need to be suffering to please God. Like the things we do have to be drudgery and misery. What does that say about our relationship with God? What if the God that loves us so much that He gave His only Son for us, might actually make us good at things and make us enjoy things because they are part of His plan for our lives? What if He really wants us to live joy filled lives doing things that bless us AND matter? His Word does say His joy is our strength, right? Note I never said it would always be easy or never frustrating, but what if He genuinely wants us to enjoy being what He created us to be? It kind of sounds like something He would do, doesn’t it?

St. Irenaeus is quoted as having said, “The glory of God is man fully alive.” That rings true, doesn’t it? When we do what we’re best at, when we do what we love, when we work and serve with joy and passion, while doing good and godly things, don’t we shine? Isn’t God glorified? After all Jesus said, “You are the light of the world. A city on a Hill cannot be hidden. Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl. Instead they place it on a stand and it gives light to everyone in the house. In the same way let your light before men that they may see your good deeds and praise your father in Heaven.” They see what we do and praise God.

Seems like we might be onto something, doesn’t it?

Comments
  1. Jody Thomae says:

    This reminds me of “Cure for the Common Life” by Max Lucado. His basic premise is to 1. think back to those things you did and dreamed about doing as a child, 2. realize THAT is what God designed you for and 3. find a way to do it!!
    Thanks for this great reminder! Blessings, Jody

Leave a Reply

