En Plain Air Painting

Posted: September 19, 2015 in Art Technique
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

12039195_10153066538027190_1968538345458741944_nI did something on Thursday that I haven’t done in a long time. It’s called En Plein Air painting. Very simply put En Plain Air means making art outdoors. There idea is to work quickly to capture a fleeting moment, with the existing light. I did this as part of a sample lesson from ArtFruition.com and it was quite interesting. What I love about this type of painting, is so often I find myself painting ad drawing what I think something should be like and look like. En Plain Air painting forces me to work from my observation skills. There are a multitude of ways to do En Plain Air. In my case I set my easel by the stream in a public park, I laid a wash for the sky then very quickly roughed in the basic shapes. From there I got out the small brushes and began to work the details. My goal was to come up with an impressionistic piece, and I think I was somewhat successful. I call it He Leadeth Me Beside Still Waters. It’s 8″x10″ acrylic on canvas.

I really enjoyed the exercise, the challenge of reflections, and of capturing a moment. I encourage you to go out somewhere you might enjoy and give it a try.

Comments
  1. vondaskelton says:

    Wow, Dave. That’s beautiful! I had no idea that artists could vary technique that much. I just figured they did what was inside them and that was all there was. Thanks for letting us see this calming piece!

Leave a Reply

