Book Review: Gifted Hands by Ben Carson and Cecil Murphey

Posted: September 7, 2015 in books
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

41cj8NKr68L._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_So there I was, in the midst of a ministry trip and on my own for lunch. I didn’t really relish the thought of sitting at a restaurant by myself, so I decided to eat at the local mall. To my surprise, there was a Christian bookstore in the mall, a very rare commodity these days. I didn’t want to spend a lot of money, so I went to their discount shelf. I found a copy of Dr. Ben Carson’s Autobiography Gifted Hands: The Ben Carson Story

and picked it up. It wasn’t long before I was hooked. This is a great story of a great man.

Long story short, he started out very poor, but somewhere along the line, he became determined to work hard to succeed. The story chronicles his journey from poverty in Detroit to attending Yale, to his storied career as a Neurosurgeon at Johns-Hopkins. Carson also tells about some of his most difficult cases, saving the lives of children with the odds stacked against them. Over it all, he shares the way his faith in God influences it all. This truly is a great story that will challenge you to push yourself to being all that you can be. I loved this book.

The book was written well before Carson decided to run for president, so no politics are included and while this should not be seen as an endorsement of his candidacy, this nation could do a lot worse. If he’s still a candidate by the PA primary, he has my one vote, because of his story and largely because he supports my ultimate candidate. YESHUASTICKER

Comments
  1. vondaskelton says:

    Yes, I’ve read this book several times, long before he was running for president. Have you seen the Hollywood film made from the book? Powerful! And again, done years and years before he had ever considered politics.

    I for one am ready to vote for him for president. What a difference it would be to have a Christian leading America again!

Leave a Reply

