The Simple Truth

Posted: September 5, 2015 in Speaking ministry
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

A long time ago, pretty much at the start of my ministry journey, I was on a literal mountain top, crying out to God for direction and a bunch of other related things. I felt in my Spirit a very clear mandate. “I want you to preach the Gospel in a way everyone understands.” I took that very much to heart and it has shaped much of what I do today. Yesterday it was challenged… but not really.

Here’s what happened. I was doing my message about the parable of the talents called Hurried, Buried and Worried when someone in the room thought the sermon was audience participation time (it’s usually not) and began calling out things about the parable, things that were way outside what is seen on the printed page, things that would require a radical reinterpretation of the passage. I’ll be the first to admit I don’t know everything there is to know about Scripture and that some passages may have prophetic meanings, but here’s what I know.

For the most part, in the vast majority of situations, nearly all the time, the Scripture says what it means and means what it says. Sometimes there is a deeper meaning, but for the most part, you can’t go wrong taking God at His Word. Of course this implies that you are taking the passage in context as it was intended and not cherry picking verses that support whatever argument you’re trying to make. (That can be disastrous.)

The Bible is a unique book. It holds within it the basic truths of life, constructed in such a way that, nearly anyone can understand (and receive) it’s simple truth. At the same time it is so complex that it requires a lifetime of study.

Receive the simple truth, and share it.

Leave a Reply

