Well it’s time for me to make an announcement about a major change in my life, one I am quite looking forward to. In the months of September and October, I will begin a new journey. I recently accepted a call to become the interim pastor at Springfield Church of the Brethren, in Coopersburg, PA. An interim pastor is a pastor who guides a church through a time of transition between their former pastor and their next permanent pastor. He does all the work of a regular pastor, but there is a time limit on the position. I am looking forward to this for a number of reasons.

Let’s start off with the logistical reasons.

First: I have never done pastoral ministry as my main “job.” I always had a day job in addition to my pastoral duties. It will be nice to be able to focus all my efforts on ministering the Gospel.

Secondly: It gives me the opportunity to try out being a “full-time” pastor while having a shorter term commitment.

Third: I will be doing this on a part time basis with one Sunday a month off. In this way I can continue to do my speaking ministry on the off Sundays as well as evenings and weekends. This ministry is very important to me and want it to continue.

Now for the best reason of all.
I get to sow into the lives of a congregation of people. I get to make new friends, and lead a congregation, discipling people and helping them to spread the Gospel to their friends, family and community. I am really quite excited to get started.

I also wanted to let you know that this ministry will continue through the process and, as state earlier, I am still available for speaking (with a modified schedule) during this time.

Comments
  1. vondaskelton says:

    I’m excited for you and this new direction in your life. He knows exactly what we need to be able to do all He’s called us to do. What an awesome God we serve!

Leave a Reply

