Start…Finish…Ship…Repeat

Posted: August 10, 2015 in books
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

A few days ago, I put out a call for people to give me topics for my next book. I got only one response, but it was a very important response, one that I hear a lot as I talk to artists. The basic premise is, “I have so many ideas, I get swamped by them and end up doing nothing, or having a whole bunch of started projects, none of which are finished.” It’s a kind of creative ADD and many of us are afflicted, myself included. I have however found ways to beat this and, as a result, I have become quite prolific. In an effort to serve the creative community, not to mention a little accountability on my part, I’ve decided to begin a book called:

Start…Finish…Ship…Repeat…

Let me start by saying, there is nothing wrong with having multiple simultaneous projects going, so stop beating yourself up. As I begin writing this book, I have at least four more books in progress on my desktop right now (The fourth being thing one). I know I may have just lost all credibility, so please let me explain.

One book is called, “The Elephant Cookbook.” Based on the proverb, “How do you eat an elephant? One bite at a time,” this book covers how to complete large projects. No, the irony that this book sits unfinished is not lost on me, here’s what happened. I had a concept to make each of the ideas an “elephant recipe” and that idea stalled me. So I did what I recommend you do, put a stalled idea aside.

Another is a workshop called “Create a Better Life.” This project is actually completely written, but the delivery system, to get it out to the public is a little stuck. In this case, one of two things will happen. I will either find a partner who can make the technology work, learn the technology myself or I will retool it as a book with a workbook component. The point behind this setback is no man is an island. Sometimes you either need to get help or rework the project into something you can do yourself. Again never wait for a stalled project to come together. Do the leg work it takes to get unstuck as you keep moving on something else.

Lastly is a book entitled, “What Should I Write?” This book is not a stalled project at all. This is what I call a “blockbuster.” You see in the process of writing Start…Finish…Ship…Repeat… I will inevitably get stuck. Having a “blockbuster” project like this one will allow me to have something to jump to, while I work through the block on my other project. It keeps the creative muscles limber and allows me to keep moving forward. “What Should I Write?” is a book of writing prompts with a twist. It’s pretty simple to write, purely creative and it will be very useful to a lot of people, but it’s also “low pressure.” The other upside of this is, not long after I finish, “Start…Finish…Ship…Repeat…” I will have another book to release, another useful product to help my readers. It’s a win-win situation.

Why did I choose to add “Start…Finish…Ship…Repeat…” to a already busy schedule? My personal mission (if you don’t have one of these you should) is to serve and help the creative community to use their gifts to make a difference in this world. Because the people I am trying to help have expressed a need in this area, I am moving it to the forefront. This is the project I will finish next. I see a need that I can meet fairly quickly, based on things I’ve already tested and found to be true, right and helpful, so this project moves to the forefront.

Stick with me on this journey. I’ll share many of the components of the book on the pages of this blog.

Leave a Reply

