Create a Better Life: Day 29: Practical Considerations: Making Space

Posted: May 11, 2015 in coaching, conferences, Speaking ministry
Tags: , , , , , , ,

(Author’s Note: When the book is assembled, this will move toward the front of the book.)

createbetterOne of the key, vital considerations in any creative pursuit is where are you going to create. We all need a space and a dedicated space is best. If possible, you should have a space where you can leave projects in progress alone so you can jump right in rather than having to set up and tear down every time you decide to do something. Those setting up and tearing down times can really cut into what for most of us is already limited creative time. Even if it’s a closet, a corner of the basement, an attic, or part of the garage, a place to create (even a small one) will really help your productivity. Please note; Not having this space is NOT an excuse for not creating. Start where you are, tough it out and create while you try to create/find a dedicated space.

Next it is best to have “a place for everything and everything in it’s place. I’ve often said that I thrive in clutter, but even I have to admit, it’s not really true. Trying to find things when I’m in the midst of a creative flurry is maddening and can sometimes crush the inspiration. Spending a little time establishing storage and a good work space can go a long way toward stress free creativity. As you probably know by now, stress is a great enemy of creativity.

In my personal journey toward creating a better life, I confess that clutter has taken a pretty major toll on my basement space. This is because when I am in a very busy time, I tend to be a throw and go artist. I quickly finish one thing and throw it aside to get the next thing done. A cluttered space can be the sign of a cluttered life and so I need to look for areas where I am out of priority. In the mean time, I just need to clean it up and get it done.

Creating a creative space, is a great step to creating a better life.

Leave a Reply

