createbetterTaking a break from content creation today to do some of the practical stuff. The creation part is fun, it can be really exciting, but it’s not the only thing that needs to be done. If we neglect the basics and the practical stuff, our work stays in the ethereal and never becomes something real and tangible. At the end of these 48 days, I want to have at least one product to release to the general public, and probable two or three.

So here’s what I am doing today:

1. I know that I soon want to create my first webinar on this topic, so I went to find a host. I settled on Fuze.com for the beta test (coming soon). If the service works well I will use it, if not, back to the drawing board. Do any of my readers have other recommendations? In addition, I will begin working up slides for that presentation.

2. I want to compile these posts into a workbook to go along with the first official webinar, so I am beginning to edit the posts into a useful tool and working on the layout. Needless to say, this will take more than one day and will be ongoing, but I need to start now.

3. I’ve also created another creativity product that really excites me. The product is completely written and the product art is complete, but I have some decisions to make regarding the delivery of this product. I am planning to release this product in conjunction with the first webinar so it needs to be done. Again, it will take more than one day to complete, but the preliminaries need to be done, so I can release on time.

4. Update the Create a Better Life page of dweisscreative.com. as if by design, I need to practice what I preach here. I am a few days behind updating this important page.

Now to be clear, should this product be successful, eventually things like this are things that should be farmed out to other people/services so that I can focus on my strengths, which is the creative end of the project. Since this project is about starting with what you have and building something from scratch, I have chosen to go it alone. If you can afford to farm out the practical stuff, by all means find some people you trust and do it. Regardless of how you do it, don’t let this stuff pile up. Better to do the “boring stuff” in small bites, than to save it all for the end of the project.

You need to find the way that works for you, but don’t ignore the practical stuff. It’s a big and important part of creating a better life.

Leave a Reply

