The Two Essential Questions for Creativity in the Church.

Posted: April 29, 2015 in church art ministry resources
Tags: , , , , , , ,

This is one of those “late night, had a dream, can’t go back to sleep until I write it down” kind of messages. It will be short and to the point and my hope is it will make sense in the morning. I’m about three months from being a grandfather for the first time and I could not be more excited about it. In my dream there was a church next for to my grandchild’s house and it was covered with fake bats and all kinds of horror stuff. The pastor was decked out in all kinds of vampire gear, the whole thing had the feeling of evil to the point where, thinking how much this would score my grandchild, I said, “This is going to shut down if I have to shut it down.” Then I woke up. As I lay there trying to separate dream from reality, I had a thought. “What if the guy was just trying to creatively reach his community?” I mean that’s a big part of what this blog is all about. If that’s what it was, when does creativity go too far.

I remember another time, I took my youth group to a Christian concert near Halloween and the lead singer of one of the bands came out in full skull makeup ala Danzig. He made one of the most absurd comments I have ever heard, stating that Halloween had it’s origins in Christianity and Christmas didn’t. I knew what he was getting at. Halloween was established by the church as a way to honor the saints who had gone before and there are some elements of our Christmas celebrations that have been borrowed (and redeemed, I believe) from paganism. But since Christmas is the celebration of the birth of Christ, I think he was a little off the mark. He was trying to defend his decision to dress for Halloween, but he really missed the mark.

Thinking of these two things bought me to the two questions we must ask ourselves as we attempt to use our creativity to serve the Lord, especially in the context of the church. The first one analyzes our motives. “Am I attempting to honor God?” This one asks, “Is my heart in the right place? Am I tryout to do good in the name of God or just indulging my own whims? What’s my motivation?” Jeremiah 17:9 says “The heart is deceitful above all things…” so this question is vital.

The second question is closely related and would have helped the young lead singer and a lot of other people along the way. “Does this ACTUALLY honor God?” It says, “My heart’s in the right place, but will what I am about to do actually succeed at honoring God?” The thing is the answer to both of these questions MUST be “yes” and we need to have that answer to both questions before we proceed.

Does that make sense? I’m going back to bed.

Leave a Reply

