Create a Better Life: Day 17: Content Creation: STOP Wishing!

Posted: April 29, 2015 in coaching, conferences, Speaking ministry
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

createbetterTwo of the deadliest words to the creative process are “I wish.” You know, “I wish I had more.. I wish I did this… I wish I had known…” the list goes on and on. Here’s what I want you to do:

STOP Wishing!

I hear people say “I wish I had this.” “I wish I had that.” Well you don’t! The real question is, “What do you have?” Start there. Look, there aren’t any fairies, or genies, or wishing stars. Those things don’t exist. What you need to do instead is do something. Start something. Do it now! Every step you take can be a step closer to where you want to be. Even a misstep is a step. If nothing else, it gives you something from which to learn and move forward.

You see wishing makes you focus on what you don’t have and it’s paralyzing. Start with what you do have and do something with it. Find something you’re missing? Don’t wish. Find a way to get it. Find someone to help you or find a way to do without it. You might have to get creative. You might have to skip a few steps for now, but you can keep moving forward. What do you have right now that you could use to start?

Of course you don’t have everything you want. It’s part of why you’d take the time to read something called Create a Better Life. We’re working toward something. So find an idea and move toward it.

Stop wishing and start creating a better life.

Leave a Reply

