I do a lot of writing about art, but I also still make art, and pretty much of it. I just finished a painting to be auctioned off for a local community center benefit. (I’ll share that photo later.)

I’ve also done a few more experimental pieces. In my younger days, I dreamed of being a bass player in a rock band. I found that I am not that good and directed my efforts elsewhere, but I still have a great affection for the instrument. One day recently, I was looking at a small portion of a bass, the tuning peg and thought that is really interesting looking and distinctive. I decided to try to render it as a graphic and put it on a Zazzle t-shirt. This is what came of that.

basspegI also decided to revisit something I designed years ago and make it into something finished. As I’ve mentioned in previous posts, I am a huge fan of ambigrams, designs that read the same (usually) right side up or upside down. I did my first one when I was just out of high school. It was for a band some friends of mine had called Fury. This piece was what came of re-exploring the design. Why did I do it? I was experimenting with rendering things in Photoshop and I wanted to see if I could turn a rough concept into something pretty cool. I am pretty pleased with the end result. Fury no longer exists as a band, at least that I know of, but it was fun to revisit this and sometimes we just need to have fun when we create, and you never know what you’ll learn in the process.

furyambigram

 

And then there’s this one. I don’t know why it exists. It was heavily influenced by the Thrush Muffler’s logo but it’s a duck. I did it just for fun and called it Mad Duck. There’s a good chance nothing will come of it and it is really derivative. It started off as a doodle and I decided to clean it up. Again I learned a couple techniques here that I might use on something “real” in the future, but regardless, it was an enjoyable couple minutes of experimentation.

madduck

We can learn a lot in our experimentation, and occasionally it turns into something marketable. Even if it doesn’t, sometimes you have to…

Just make art!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

