Busy, Busy, Busy and the Myth of Working Better Under Pressure

Posted: March 24, 2015 in Thoughts on art ministry and life
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

I’m in a phase of life right now that is really busy. Some of the things I have to do are great, others not so much. Will I get it all done? Most likely. Will I be stressed out and anxious in the process? Yes. I guess the real question is, is it worth it?

There will always be things in our lives that are thoroughly out of our control but most of the time what we really need is just to gain some control over the things we do actually control. When we overcommit, we are signing up and volunteering for stress.

And don’t tell me you work best under pressure. Recently, I was cutting it way too close on a deadline. So close that I worked an obscene amount of hours to get it done. As a result, the end result is less than flawless, which aggravates me to no end. “I work best under pressure” is nothing less than code for “I procrastinate and then rush something out just under the wire.” Maybe it’s just me but I doubt it, creativity is very rarely enhanced by stress.

As believing creatives, we’re on a mission and part of that mission is to create quality work. Maybe instead of trying to satisfy everyone and impress people by how busy we are by overcommitting, we should scale back and try instead to over deliver–
bringing our best to every project, every time.

Are you busy or fruitful, because it’s really hard to be both.

Leave a Reply

