Don’t Help Bad Behavior Go Viral…

Posted: March 12, 2015 in Thoughts on art ministry and life
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

If there is one thing that frustrates me about being a blogger, it’s that I can’t reach more people. Please don’t get me wrong, I love and appreciate all the people that do read this blog (If you’re reading this, that’s you!) I just can’t help thinking some of the things God gives me here could help a lot more people. It’s not really frustrating though until I see some of the things that go viral.

Case in point. The other day a friend of mine commented on a post that was extremely offensive, one of the most offensive things I have ever read, and that is saying something. She commented because she wanted to tear into the guy and she did and, by the way she did it well. Of course now it was on her newsfeed and many of her friends posted as well, which meant it went onto all their feeds. I had some things to say about it too and I began to write, but then I had a revelation. When I hit send, my nearly 2,000 friends (never thought I’d ever say I had 2,000 friends) will also get to read this message. I deleted my comment.

They say feed a cold, starve a fever (or is it the other way around?). I don’t know if that’s right, but I do know what we feed grows, what we starve dies. By commenting on that guy’s horrible ideas, whether I agree or not, I am helping him to spread them. That’s not a great idea. See in the old days, when there was limited media, the few ideas that got out, were widely broadcast and people commented on what they saw. Now there are many more ideas and almost infinite channels to get them out. No one has more than 24 hours in a day with which to absorb these ideas, so many of them die, from lack of interest, because few people see them. The ones that don’t die, grow largely because people share them but also because of our comments, both positive and negative. Our sense of righteous indignation is sometimes the cause of things growing that ought to die.

Maybe it’s time to check ourselves before we hit send. Maybe we need to ask, “Is this an idea that deserves a larger audience?”

Negativity has no shortage of proponents. I think we need to be better. Let the negative stuff die. Share good stuff (maybe even this post) and good stuff goes viral. Isn’t that what we really want?

Leave a Reply

