I Hate… No, I Dislike… No, I Appreciate Winter

Posted: March 4, 2015 in Thoughts on art ministry and life
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Well, I just cancelled open studio for my creative arts group because, surprise, surprise, surprise, another winter storm is violating the sanctity of the March 1 cut-off. Okay truthfully, I have just had enough. The first couple snows are pretty, but by this time, the white stuff and the corresponding ice has run it’s course in my mind. It makes me have to cancel things, keeps me from taking bookings that are too far from home and of course, I have to shovel it. (Right now some of my New York/New England readers are saying “Cry me a river,” but I digress.)

In the past I would always say “I hate Winter” and in truth, I still kind of do, but here’s the thing. God gave me Winter. He made Winter and all the other seasons for a reason and God is always good. So in spite of all the inconveniences, I am trying to come to appreciate this season. There are a lot of things like that in life. Things we’d just as soon not go through, but if we try hard enough we can see God at work in them.

I have a friend who left Florida to move here to Pennsylvania at least in part because she missed the seasons. I never really understood that. My occasional winter ministry trips to Florida are like an oasis in my year. There is nothing like getting on a plane shivering and getting off the plane in short sleeves. I could get used to that. Winter is a season I could truly do without and if you’re in the south and want to fly in a speaker in Winter, I would be grateful.

Truth be known, I was hatching a snowbird plan for a few years down the road, but then I found out the Lord is giving me another blessing, one that will keep me here, one that is worth shoveling and slipping and sliding for and I couldn’t be happier. It’s like that with God sometimes. About the time you are ready to throw in the towel, He reminds us that there is good in most things.

So I will try not to say I hate winter anymore. There’s no point in hating something you can do very little about and it’s a really bad idea to hate something God created on purpose for a purpose (a good purpose, Dave says somewhat begrudgingly). If you’re going to hate something, hate sin and try to do something about it. If you’re going to hate something, hate injustice and try to make things right.

There’s one other thing to consider. The aggravating things in life help us to appreciate the non-aggravating things and the really good things. the things that bring us joy. Winter will never be my favorite time of year, but man do I appreciate Spring! When I hit those Winter doldrums, Spring feels a lot like hope.

Spring is coming.

Leave a Reply

