Why Creative Ministry Is Important…

Posted: February 14, 2015 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

It started in 1986 (yes I am that old). I hadn’t been in a church for other than a wedding or a funeral in about 10 years and my life was a mess. Suddenly I found myself in a church again. I was there for one reason and one reason only, the same reason every guy who doesn’t care about church ends up in church, a girl invited me. When I walked in that door I was a mess. Drinking problem, seriously depressed, terrified to speak in public and feeling pretty hopeless. How did I go from that guy to a minister of the Gospel who has used my art and speaking to minister in 100 churches in 13 states in the last three years? Two things. First off someone cared enough to introduce me to Jesus Christ, my Lord and Savior, and secondly because a pastor found my gift of art and showed me I could use it to serve the Lord in the church and in the world beyond.

Those two things have become my passion in ministry and in life.

I believe everyone is gifted and talented. I believe those gifts and talents are given by God on purpose, for a purpose and it’s in finding those gifts and putting them to work that we find the meaning of our lives. This is one of the main reasons creative ministry is important. If we cannot get beyond those few gifts (musical ability) that can only be done by a relative few, we relegate everyone else to being consumers. When people are nothing but consumers, we should not be surprised when they leave us for a better “show.” We have got to get creative to incorporate as many people and as many gifts and talents as we can into the total ministry of the church, in the church building itself and just as importantly in the world beyond. Dan Miller rightly and regularly reminds us that there are lots of ways to do ministry and most of them happen outside the walls. He is a million percent correct in this. Not only is this good for the people who are already believers, but creatively helping people to find their ministries, helps those who are not interested in church to come in contact with the Gospel through the church (remember the church is the people) in the marketplace.

Secondly, creative ministry is important because of the sheer volume of messages and images people are confronted with each day. While we believe and know that the Gospel is the most important message there is and that it is empowered by the Holy Spirit, how does it stand out above all the noise? How do we take the unchanging Gospel to an ever changing world? I think we need to get creative.

The building is not the church, it’s the box for the church. While worshipping in that box is great and hugely important, and I believe commanded (or at least highly recommended) in passages like Hebrews 10:25, most of the ministry of the church occurs “outside the box” in the other 176 hours of the week. We need to quite literally begin doing a better job of “thinking outside the box.” We need to get creative.

That’s why creative ministry is important.

Leave a Reply

