The Point of Writing (and All Communication)

Posted: January 27, 2015 in books
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

This one is not just for writers, but writers should really pay attention.

The speaker was awesome. He spoke on one of the most important issues facing the church in our time. I listened to him all day and at no point did my eyes “glaze over.” I was so enthralled with his presentation that at the end of the day, I went to his table and bought the most expensive book on his table. It set me back $30 and I bought the last one.

Now before you go any further, I should tell you that while I don’t claim to be a genius, neither will I claim stupidity. I would humbly say I’m fairly intelligent and leave it at that. I got the book home and cracked it open. The information in the book is vital. I will finish this book, but I can only read two or three pages at a time. The writing is so dense and scholarly that I can scarcely understand it. It reads more like a doctoral thesis than a book meant for sharing information. And it leads me to a question. What’s the point?

I mean the disconnect is uncanny. As I listened to him speak the message was so clear. He spoke in layman’s terms, injected lots of humor then I get to the book and it’s almost completely over my head.

Isn’t the point of communication and in particular, writing to be understood? I think it is. You may be the smartest person in the room, but if you want your message to truly succeed, your work should be comprehensible at least to some degree by everyone in the room.

Creatives, this message we have been entrusted with is too important for us to make it incomprehensible. Write (and communicate, and create) so people can understand.

Comments
  1. You’re absolutely right, Dave. One of the first things I learned at writers’ conferences was Keep It Simple. You are commended for sticking with it, even at only 2-3 pages a day. Most people who spent the money won’t finish the book, let alone glean any valuable information from it. Sad.

    • amokarts says:

      Hi Brenda,
      You know, the truth is if a person writes no more than 500 words a day, he or she can write a full book in about 100-120 days. Theoretically three to four books a year. Almost any blogger can manage that task and it’s not inaccessible for the rest of us either.

Leave a Reply

