Well it snowed here in the eastern U.S. and it’s about to snow some more. Those of you who have been around a while know I am not a huge fan of the white stuff. It tends to prevent me from doing some of the things I need to do and the things I want to do. That being said, I also know that everything God does is good, so I try to appreciate it. Here are a few things I have discovered:

1. God is truly an amazing artist. Snow as we know is not one huge mass, but billions of tiny flakes. No two are alike. It’s amazing just like our God. My confession that I much prefer when He works in His green palette not withstanding, what He does with those billions of tiny flakes is breathtaking.

2. Back to those billions of tiny flakes. Alone they are tiny and powerless, evaporated by a single breath, but together en masse, they can stop traffic, ground airplanes and bring our world to a halt. There’s a lesson in there for us in the church. Perhaps on our own each of us is pretty weak and powerless, but when we come together, we can make real change. Last week was Martin Luther King Jr. day in case you needed an example of how this is true.

3. Maybe bringing things to a halt is the point of all this. If you noticed in my slight complaint above, what did I say? “It tends to prevent me from doing some of the things I need to do and the things I want to do.” Maybe that is the point. Maybe we’re supposed to slow down and take a breather. Maybe snow is God reminding us that He is in control and that the world won’t stop just because people do.

4. Snow brings with it an opportunity to serve others. Do you know someone who needs a little help to dig out? Maybe you should pay them a visit and give them another opportunity to praise God.

So today instead of getting whiney, I think I am just going to try to enjoy the work of the greatest Artist.

Comments
  1. Dave, in fact, I love snow 🙂

Leave a Reply

