You Just Never Know What’s Going to Be a Hit…

Posted: January 13, 2015 in Art for Sale, coaching
Tags: , , , , , , ,

bootsOut of all the shirts I have designed on Zazzle, this is my best seller. Not that I am getting rich on it or anything but for some reason this design really connects with people. I like it, but I am more than a little surprised. It all started with a photo my son took of our cat Boots. He really is a beautiful cat. His head was turned slightly and I was a little bored so I took the photo into Photoshop and started to play. I isolated his head and turned it slightly. Then I cut the head down the middle and duplicated half, flipped the one half horizontally and put the two halves together to create a perfectly symmetrical design. It was an experiment, but when I put it together it clicked. I then re-rendered the whole design by hand making it into a simple three color print.

I really liked it but I figured that would be the end of it. Just for giggles I decided to put it into Zazzle for the sole purpose of making one shirt for my son. I decided just to leave it in my store, with very little expectation, and people started buying it.

You never know what will connect with people, so the best thing you can do is create your best art and put it out there for the world to see. My great fear in life is there are a lot of really brilliant artists out there who will never make their mark because they feel they’re not good enough. It’s time to shut down the inner critic and ship it. It has never been easier or cheaper to get your work before an audience.

What’s holding you back?

Here are a few of my other shops:

Comments
  1. vondaskelton says:

    Wow, Dave, I just visited your Zazzle site and was quite impressed. You have quite a business going there! Congrats!

Leave a Reply

