What Do You Do When You Don’t Know What to Do?

Posted: January 12, 2015 in Thoughts on art ministry and life
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

I’m in one of those places again. A place where I don’t know what to do. I’ve prayed and there’s no “bolt from the blue,” sure-fire answer for me. Yes, I will continue to pray. Yes, I’ve counted the cost, but at this point there are a lot of ideas and nothing pops out as the right one. I don’t know what to do. Have you been there?

Here’s what I’ve found and what I am doing… God rarely gives us the whole picture. In my case I have the dream and the vision and the end game feels pretty clear. It’s the A-Z, “how to get there from here” plan that’s missing, as if often the case. I think this is by design, at least with me. If I knew A-Z, I would depend on the process and probably skip steps. I would especially try to skip the steps that cause pain.

Here’s the thing. God doesn’t want me to trust the process, He wants me to trust in Him. He doesn’t want me to skip steps and sometimes the pain I would skip is the very thing that would make me able to handle step Z and the prize beyond when it gets here. While he won’t give me A-Z, He will often give me A-B, a single step of faith to take in obedience, whether or not I have a clear picture of the next step. It’s called faithfulness and it really is the best path.

Truth be known, I’m not on step A anymore. I’ve probably been through the alphabet many times and I’m still not at the dream, but this much I know. I’m closer. Taking those steps has not been easy (He never promised it would be) but it has led somewhere good, so far. So it’s time once again to pull on my “big-boy pants” trust God, and take another step.

He is faithful. What He started He will finish. The only variable in this equation is you and me. Time to take the next right step.

What will you do when you don’t know what to do?

Comments
  1. Wendi says:

    Reblogged this on Art of Wendi C and commented:
    I feel like I’m in this same place. Praying for direction.

Leave a Reply

