Creative Leaders are Readers

Posted: January 4, 2015 in books
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Just curious as to what you are reading these days. I have read a couple excellent books over the last couple years.

Needless to say I am reading the Bible. Last year I did a study of the parables of Jesus and while I continue to read them, this year I am on a simple cover to cover devotional plan. I calculated that if I read four chapters a day I will be able to read though the scripture in a little less than a year. I’m an advocate of reading for distance, when reading for devotions.

Last year I read Erwin McManus’ book The Artisan Soul three times. (I read for myself then again to prepare to lead a book study and then with the group.) It is a phenomenal book and a must read for anyone in creative ministry.

I also read Manuel Luz’ wonderful book Imagine That. I met Manuel at a creative ministry conference and he has some amazing ideas. This is another must read.

I just finished The Creative Call by Janet Elshimer. This is definitely more of a work book and I read it for possible use with my church creative arts team.

My current read is Creativity, Inc. by Ed Catmull. This is a business book written by one of the founders of Pixar. Laced among the stories of Pixar are solid creative business principles. This is great stuff.

Lastly, here is a freebie, written by yours truly, Ministering to the Creative Soul. I would love to get your thoughts on it. http://radicallyreal.truepath.com/amokarts/mttcs.pdf It’s also available for Kindle and in print on Amazon.

On my stack to read is Wisdom Meets Passion by Dan Miller.

Leaders are readers, what are you reading?

Comments
  1. I haven’t been reading except the Bible due too overwhelming workload

    >

  2. Anonymous says:

    Great list of books! I’ve only read Manuel’s and it was fantastic…the other 2 are on my ever expanding list. Im currently reading Bird by Bird by Anne Lamott and Awakening The Creative Spirit: Bringing the Arts to Spiritual Direction by Betsy Beckman.

Leave a Reply

