Sometimes You Create Just for Fun

Posted: January 3, 2015 in Thoughts on art ministry and life
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Last night was my church’s staff Christmas get together. One of the things they decided to do was a White Elephant gift exchange. In our case, the goal was to bring a little gift to use in the exchange. This being my first time as part of the staff, I wasn’t quite sure what to bring and then I thought, “Why not go literal?” This is what came out.
whiteelephant

My original intent was to do it silly, but then I started to have some fun with it and ended up coming up with something I kind of liked. It’s still a white elephant, and so it still fits the parameters of silly, but it also feels like art. Sometimes you need to create just because you want to, just because it’s fun.

I had fun with this one. What do you create just for fun?

Comments
  1. Melissa says:

    How fun! I bet whoever received this piece will thoroughly enjoy it- what a memory maker! A few months back I was asked by a friend, “When was the last time you created something with joyful abandon?” Her question continues to linger in my mind as I consider why I do what I do. I tend to be a bit serious- and I would love to incorporate more joy into art.

    • amokarts says:

      It was kind of funny, most people thought it was this velvet Elvis that had been passed around a few years in a row so it made quite a few trips to different people. I had a great time with it. It’s really easy to get caught up in the seriousness of making serious art, but you remember when we first started doing this, right? We were all kids with crayons having fun. Sometimes we all need to go back and recapture that. What Picasso said still rings true, “All children are artists. The problem is to remain an artist as one grows up.” If the joy of the Lord is our strength, maybe joy in art will make our work more powerful.

  2. Steve Simms says:

    Yes! The church definitely needs to be creative or rather to allow God to be creative in our meetings. Participatory church releases God’s creativity through ordinary people. You created an elephant. I blogged today about “If God was a dog in church . . . :” http://stevesimms.wordpress.com/2015/01/03/if-god-was-a-dog/

Leave a Reply

