I Want What You Want…

Posted: December 22, 2014 in Thoughts on art ministry and life
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

It’s my prayer, or at least it should be.
“Lord, I want what you want.”
but how can I want what He wants when His ways are higher than my ways,
His thoughts greater than mine?
So instead I say, “Lord, I want to want what you want.”
but even in this I am flawed, just a man struggling not to want what he wants,
what everyone else seems to want.
So finally I say “Lord, help me to want what you want.”

And then I think of the Word.
“The Lord is my Shepherd, I shall not want.” meaning not that it is wrong to want, but that I shall not be IN want. That He will meet my needs and care for me because He is good and He loves me.

Then and only then can I finally come to the right conclusion,
the right prayer.
“Lord, I want you.”

Isn’t that the key?

Leave a Reply

