Something I Am Really Hoping to Get Involved In: Eat-Art.org

Posted: November 23, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , ,

Okay so I was listening to the Catalyst Podcast yesterday and I saw they had an interview with someone from Eat-Art.org. I was so hoping it wasn’t a cooking site. It isn’t. It’s this amazing charity that sells art to end hunger. Buy a print and meals are donated to those who need them. This is what their site has to say:

“Eat Art became my heartbeat and passion about a year ago, on Thanksgiving Day 2010. I was in Texas with extended family watching the Dallas Cowboys play football, if you can call it that! I had eaten WAY TOO MUCH about an hour earlier, and the turkey was about to cause my eyes to close. As I was watching football I was also surfing Facebook & Flickr and had several people asking me if they could purchase some of the photos I had posted over the past few days. As I sat on the couch with a FULL stomach I began to wonder how could I sell a few images and use the money to feed people with EMPTY stomachs. Mix that momentary thought with my entrepreneurial tendencies, and the 10-month journey and evolution of Eat Art began.

During the summer of 2011, EA was all I could think about, and with the generous investments from three close friends this grass roots cause to artfully end hunger was born. I began to have many dozens of conversations, the initial contributors and photos were compiled, apparel was designed and ordered and the web site was officially launched on September 1st of 2011.

I was so nervous – it was like I had given birth to this baby I had been carrying for 10 months and I was not sure if anyone would think it was beautiful. But in the first 15 days there was enough art and apparel purchased to send 15,000 meals to hungry children. I was absolutely blown away by YOU! I now believe, and there is no way you can convince me otherwise, we could truly become a major force in fighting hunger.

Did you know there are approximately 3 billion people that live on less than $2 each day and 1.4 billion people live on less than $1.25 each day. (UNICEF) Every single day children are dying just because they don’t have enough food to eat.”—Eat-Art.org founder Todd Clark

What is the current vision of Eat Art?
To become a trusted organization through total transparency and therefore a major force in Artfully Ending Hunger. Sending 1,000,000 meals a YEAR to hungry children.

This image below links to a video showing one of Eat-Art’s artists at work on a piece you can actually buy on the site. It’s by Jeremy Cowart and it’s called Christ. Watch his technique, it’s amazing.
<a href="Jeremy Cowart's Christ from Eat-art.org“>

I’m getting some things ready to submit to Eat-art.org If you’re looking for a way to help others with your work, check them out!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.