the spirit and the brideI participated in a worship experience tonight with Dave Helmuth from AdLib music. He calls it breathing room. It’s a rotating event that is held at different churches on the tenth of every month. It’s my second time painting with them and I really enjoy it. Its a different environment for me. Rather than my usual speed painting, I get to slow down, take my time and try new things. I try to be really Spirit led on this coming in with little or no agenda but to have prayed for an image. This is what came out. When I asked Dave what the theme was, he said “intimacy with God.” As I was driving, I thought I had my picture, but I was still second guessing whether or not this was the image for tonight.

I was envisioning Jesus and His bride, the Church, face to face and about to embrace, but something was still off. It felt like the idea was missing something. Slowly I realized it was a matter of technique. The bride after all is the Church of Jesus Christ. In other words, US. How could I express millions together to become one bride and that is when it hit me. Pointillism. The bride would me made of a collection colored dots, their colors all part of the “human rainbow.”To show that the church is composed of all of us.

What finally pushed me over the edge to do the design was when the piano player shared about his experience leading worship at a local women’s prison. One of the women asked him the question “Why would God want to hear from me?” The answer to that question is simple, He loves you, you’re His bride. He wants to be close to us and He desires to draw us to Himself. That is the ultimate intimacy. God the Father embracing His beloved children. Jesus our Savior embracing His bride.

How close are you to Jesus right now? He wants to hear from you and He wants to draw you near. He loves you.

Revelation 22:17 The Spirit and the bride say, “Come!” And let the one who hears say, “Come!” Let the one who is thirsty come; and let the one who wishes take the free gift of the water of life.

Draw near to Jesus.

Leave a Reply

