Do You Believe?

Posted: March 8, 2014 in Thoughts on art ministry and life
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

No, this isn’t an evangelistic question this morning, but it is a matter of faith. Let’s start with a confession. Today I woke up frustrated. I feel like my calling in life is to be this speaker, painter, writer, encourager, etc. essentially AMOKArts. Yet what feels to be my calling always seems to get pushed to the corners of life, the thing I get to do when everything else is done. On the frustrating days, I wonder, “Why?”

I mean it’s not like I don’t work hard at my craft. If you don’t believe me, look at the following. AMOKArts.com, BewareofArtists.org, creachertoons, daveweissartistspeaker.com, not to mention my pop art gallery, zazzle store, my Youtube channel and more. It’s a lot of stuff. I have thought about moving it all under one umbrella but I’m not sure it all fits together and different audiences seem to like different aspects of what I do. It’s a lot of work, but it’s stuff I’m really into doing and I love it, I just sometimes wonder why it can’t be the main thing I do.

Now please don’t get me wrong, I appreciate all that I have, I just want to make sure I am making the most of this one life. (Suggestions would be appreciated, a marketing director/booking agent would be appreciated even more!)

I hate waking up frustrated. I have a good life, better than many, I’m sure. Moreover I am thankful to God for every opportunity, every day and every blessing. Frustration is, for the most part, counterproductive.

How many of you know God can work in a multitude of ways. Well this morning, I picked up the book I am reading right now, Small is the New Big by Seth Godin. It’s basically large collection of riffs by one of our day’s great communicators. Just a short time into my reading, I saw this.

Believe in what you do because you may have to do it for a long time before it catches on.

It forced me to ask myself a question, do I believe in what I do? Yes, I believe in AMOKArts. I believe in my calling from God and I believe in God. I believe that God has called me to use my gifts to spread the Gospel and I believe He has called me to minister to and encourage creatives in the Church. Whether it is my career or what I get to do when everything else is done, I will do what I have been called to do. I will run A.M.O.K. I do believe!

Now here’s the question. What do you do and do you believe, even when things get frustrating?

Comments
  1. Tienny says:

    Ha ha ha Dave, you have asked a good question. That is my question as well now :)

    >

Leave a Reply

